Hairspray The Musical

Hairspray The Musical


Venue: Sky City Theatre
Season: 16th August- 6th September 2014

2013/2014 is NSMT’s 50th Anniversary year, and what better way to celebrate than a show set in the 60’s when NSMT began.

Director: Grant Meese
Musical Director: Catherine Carr
Choreographer: Rhonda Daverne

Lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman Music by Marc Shaiman Book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan By arrangement with Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd, Exclusive agent for Music Theatre International (NY)

In 1962 Baltimore, Maryland, plump teenager Tracy Turnblad’s dream is to dance on The Corny Collins Show, a local TV dance program based on the real-life Buddy Deane Show. When Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight. The musical’s original Broadway production opened on August 15th, 2002, won eight Tony Awards out of thirteen nominations and ran for over 2,500 performances. Hairspray has also had national US tours, a London West End production, national UK tours, numerous foreign productions and was adapted as a 2007 musical film starring John Travolta.

Production Business Manager: Bruce Abbott
Production Team: Mark Betty, Martin Searancke, & James Murdoch.


Tracy Turnblad – Heather Wilcock
Edna Turnblad – Russell Dixon
Wilbur Turnblad – David Adkins
Corny Collins – Andrew Allen
Link Larkin – Greg Bailiey
Penny Pingleton – Stella Staab
Amber Von Tussle – Alexandra Light
Velma Von Tussle – Stephanie Liebert
Motormouth Mabel – Lavina Williams
Seaweed – Josh Martin
Little Inez – Samantha de Silva
Dynamites – Ana Howie, Kirsten Reade, Manuao Ross
Female Authority Figure – Maryanne Rushton
Male Authority Figure – Luke Bird

Black Ensemble
Nina De Villiers, Melissa Sutton, Alice Cunliffe, Ben Channing, Keith Marr, Paulo Vao, Lewis Francis, Lance Ainofo

Nicest Kids & White Ensemble
Brie Hill, Jodie Bell, Molly Leishman, Samantha Campbell, Gabby Smith, Kate Castle, Morgan Bradley, Caleb Hogan, Daniel Townsend, George Keenan, Paul Williams, Shaun Jenkins, Jens Balzat, Lane Twigden, Travis McWalter, Vinnie Sayegh, Claire Murphy, & Manon Blackman

Backing Vocals
Amanda Rolls, Andrea Leigh, Hannah Coyle, Chloe Hunt, Colin Mak, Courtney Dyson, Ella Cornfield, Gemma Rushton, Grace McMillan-Caires, Jackie Sigmon, Jayne Delcarme, Jayvee Lagunda, Louise Lagunda, Loren Conway, Rachel Booth, Rebecca Robins, Caitlin Penty, Warren Vickery, & Dwayne Mallo.

NOTE: This season of ‘Hairspray’ was an amateur production, all roles were offered on an unpaid basis (NSMT reserves the right to pay a fee for any given role in some exceptions).


Posted on

February 26, 2015

Pin It on Pinterest